Jun 2 nd, 2020

Articles8 Comments

default thumbnail

There are many methods for which we can classify an aircraft; some of the classifications are based on the following approach:

  • Lighter-than-air
  • Heavier-than-air

Based on the purpose:

  • Civil aircraft
  • Military aircraft

Wing Configurations:

  • Monoplanes
  • Bi-planes
  • Delta wings

Propulsion system:

  • Reciprocating engines
  • Jet engines


These are types of aircraft which produce lift or floats in air with the use of a gas which is lighter than air. These gases when contained inside a rigid volume displaces the surrounding ambient air. Examples include balloons and airships like Zeppelin.


Heavier than air aircrafts include passenger airplanes, military airplanes, helicopters, gliders, sailplanes, etc. These airplanes are generating lift and produce thrust to fly in the sky.

Based on the purpose

Airplanes are classified based on the purpose as civil aircraft and military aircraft. Civil aircraft includes commercial, passenger airlines or private airplanes. Private airlines are smaller in size than the commercial ones. These aircraft are used for business purposes, agricultural operations, forest-fire fighting etc. Commercial airplanes are passenger airplanes and Cargo airplanes, which fly between city airports to carry passengers and cargo. There are many airlines operating for these purposes. The size of the aircraft varies based on the number of passengers are carried or the amount of cargo it hauls.

A Cargo aircraft

Military aircraft

Military aircraft are of combat and non-combat. They are used to destroy enemy equipment. Non-combat aircraft are designed to carry out support roles. Combat military aircraft includes fighters, bombers, electronic warfare and maritime patrol planes. Non-combat aircraft include military transport, airborne early warning and control and reconnaissance and surveillance aircraft.

Propulsion system

Propulsion system is used to provide thrust to the airplane. The engines which are used to provide thrust can be reciprocating type or jet engines. Reciprocating engines are internal combustion piston engines. These types of engines are used in smaller planes.

Jet engines are used in bigger airplanes and have replaced reciprocating engines. Jet engines derive thrust by ejecting a jet of combustion of air and fuel at a very high velocity. Jet engines can be of turbojet, turbofan, turboprop, ramjet and scramjet

Turbojet engines takes ambient air through an inlet, compress to about 10 to 15 times in a compressor and then passed through a combustion chamber where it burns with the fuel. After that, it is passed through a turbine and then to a nozzle with a very high velocity.

A turboprop engine is a jet engine that has a propeller connected through a gearbox. A ramjet is a jet engine with no moving components and is a straight-through duct. A scramjet engine is a supersonic combustion ramjet engine.

Wing configurations

Airplanes can be categorized by the number of wings like monoplane, biplane, triplane, and quadplanes. A monoplane has one wing, biplane, triplane, and quadplanes have 2,3 and 4 wings respectively.

Based on the wing planform viewed from above, there can be straight wings, swept wings, delta wings, variable incidence, and complete flying wing.

Straight wings are earliest wing design which are a straight structure from its fuselage.

Delta wings are triangular in shape. Swept wings are angled backward or forward from its fuselage.

Variable incidence wings can vary the angle of incidence of the wing during its flight.

A flying wing is a tailless aircraft, which has fuselage highly reduced or absent.

8 Comments on this article

  • Jane Taylor 2nd March 2021

    Howdy, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one
    and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any assistance is very much appreciated.

  • Josephine Wright 2nd March 2021

    Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to
    the blog world but I’m trying to get started and set up my own.
    Do you need any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  • Mary Moreno 22nd February 2021

    Wow! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a entirely different topic but it has pretty much the same page layout
    and design. Great choice of colors!

  • Wilma Marshall 21st February 2021

    I have been browsing online more than 3 hours today, yet I never found any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty worth enough for me. Personally, if all site owners and bloggers made
    good content as you did, the internet will be much more useful than ever before.

  • Michael Wen 21st February 2021

    Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this
    site before but after going through many of the articles I realized
    it’s new to me. Regardless, I’m certainly pleased I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it
    and checking back often!

  • Carolyn Woodruff 20th February 2021

    I like this blog so much, saved to fav.

  • Craig Thompson 14th February 2021

    It’s perfect time to make a few plans for the long run and it is time to be happy.
    I have learn this submit and if I may just I desire to suggest
    you few attention-grabbing issues or advice.
    Perhaps you can write subsequent articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read more things approximately it!

Add a comment